The Messenger

The Messenger

Series: Contemporary Short Stories
Publication Year: March 1, 2023
As Walter's faith is tested, will his own bitterness block the voice of God that carries with it a special message for Walter's loved ones?
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Book

“Inspired by a true story, bestselling and award-winning author Beth Wiseman gives readers a novella that delivers a spiritual punch without being preachy. I found myself wondering about the angels in my life and how I need to be more attuned to those around me. If you like Wiseman’s Amish books, you won’t want to miss this masterpiece.” ~ Kelly Long, bestselling author for Kensington Publishers

Walter was eighty-two when he died–the first time. His visit to Heaven was glorious as he reunited with his wife, daughter, and other family and friends, relationships that a full life had nourished. But God tells Walter that he can’t stay in Heaven, that Walter has more to do on Earth before he returns Home for good. Leaving those he loves, as well as the love of God, seems unbearable.

The Lord tells Walter that he will return to his earthly existence right away with renewed health and pain-free. God explains to Walter that He will relay messages to him, words that he might not understand but that are intended for the betterment of the recipient.

Walter awakens in his hospital bed feeling like a man of twenty but wondering if he’d dreamed the entire ordeal. When he begins to hear God’s messages for others, he follows through, although his own doubts and fears lead him to worry whether he is handling the callings correctly. As a series of events unfold, Walter is happy when things come together for the strangers he seems to have helped, but he starts to become bitter. The two most important people in his life are hurting, and God isn’t helping either one of them.

As Walter’s faith is tested, will his own bitterness block the voice of God that carries with it a special message for Walter’s loved ones?

About the Author
Beth Wiseman

Beth Wiseman is the best-selling author of the Daughters of the Promise series and the Land of Canaan series. Having sold over two million books, her novels have held spots on the Publisher’s Weekly Bestseller List, the ECPA (Evangelical Christian Publishers Association) Bestseller List and the CBA (Christian Book Association) Bestseller List. She was the recipient of the prestigious Carol Award in 2011 and 2013. She is a three-time winner of the Inspirational Readers Choice Award, and an INSPY Award winner. In 2013 she took home the coveted Holt Medallion. Her first book in the Land of Canaan series—Seek Me With All Your Heart—was selected as the 2011 Women of Faith Book of the Year. Beth and her husband are empty nesters enjoying country life in Texas.

Look Inside